No Beans About It

Chili_No Beans.jpg

My familia recently introduced me to the wonders of Shameless. While watching the cold Chicago weather scenes, and in between wondering how Frank manages to stay alive season after season, I got a hankering for some chili. But not just any chili. One without beans. I know, I know, heretical but that’s the charm of me.

I haven’t had chili for a LONG time. It’s one of the few foods I remember from the foster care days when we lived with Miss Nanton in Flatbush. One of the girls Ebony (who was maybe 11) taught us how to cook it, she’d been cooking for her family for some time and I loved the simplicity of the chili served with rice.

So off I went scouring the interwebs for a recipe and after cobbling together a few, landed on one that packs a punch heat-wise and is simply delicious. This recipe is great served by itself, over rice or pasta, and also freezes well. That last part is a miracle if you’re a lazy cook like me.

 

INGREDIENTS

  • 2lbs Ground Beef (I buy the 1lb grass fed packs)
  • 1 medium sized onion, chopped
  • 2 green bell peppers, diced
  • 3 tablespoons chili powder
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 tablespoon cumin
  • 1 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1 teaspoon Tony Chachere seasoning
  • 1 can organic tomato paste
  • 1 can whole, peeled organic tomatoes (roughly chopped)

 

GET COOKING

  1. In a dutch oven, start browning the ground beef on medium heat. About halfway through, add the onions, peppers and Tony Chachere seasoning.
  2. Once the beef is browned, add the tomatoes and tomato paste and stir. I usually let it meld together for 2-3 minutes.
  3. Add the rest of the spices and let that come together for another 3-4 minutes. I then taste test (with another spoon!) and adjust the spices to the heat level I like.
  4. Cook on low heat for 25-30 minutes uncovered.
  5. Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

