Anniversary Stuffing

Child_Leaves.jpeg

Some of you may be surprised to know that I was pretty assertive in college. Just kidding. Anyways, one of my favorite stories is how the MC23 crew came about. Janine I’d known since youth group in HS, and Anna and I met on the very first day of college so they were part of the initial wolfpack. As our senior year loomed, we knew we needed to bounce the hell off campus and get an apartment but we needed a 4th member of the wolfpack so the budget was easy to maintain. Casey started attending SEC I think the second half of our freshman year and she was pretty wild for bible college, she had a belly ring and sometimes she wore shirts that showed it. After she and a group of friends were hauled in before the Peer Review Committee because they’d broken curfew and climbed back into their dorm rooms, I knew she was part of my tribe. We never really chatted before this, but lo and behold when we needed a 4th member to room off campus, I picked up the phone, dialed her room and barked “HEY YOU WANT TO LIVE WITH US?”. She always says that she has no idea why she said yes, but she did. Yelling, that’s the charm of me. Our senior year kicked off what has been an enduring friendship and I love her to pieces.

I’m not entirely sure of what kicked the kerfuffle off but at some point years later we got into an argument and I stopped talking to her. But in the spirit of thanksgiving, we reunited and she made us dinner. Ever since then, we’ve called this holiday our anniversary and really her stuffing  recipe is the glue that holds us together. This simple recipe really works and showcases the flavors and I absolutely love it. Happy anniversary Casey, I have no idea why you put up with me but I adore you for it!

MATERIALS: chopping board, saute pan, chef knife, baking pan

INGREDIENTS

  • Pepperidge Farm Stuffing (I prefer the Onion & Sage)
  • 1 medium onion
  • 3 stalks of celery
  • 2.5 cups organic chicken stock
  • 1 pack Jimmy Dean’s Premium Pork Sausage
  • 1 stick of Butter (I like Clover Stornetta Farms Salted Butter)

DIRECTIONS

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Cook the sausage over medium heat, making sure to crumble it while cooking. While this is cooking, dice the onion and celery.
  3. When the sausage is cooked, transfer to a bowl and melt a stick of butter in the same pan. Add the onions and celery and let that cook down to a crisp-tender state. I like to do this over low heat, takes about 5-10 minutes. Once you remove this mix, throw the stock into the pan and heat it up to boiling.
  4. Spread the stuffing mix into a baking pan (I have this one from David Burke). Add the sausage crumbles, onion/celery mix and the warmed up stock and mix well.
  5. Bake for 30 minutes while covered, then bake uncovered for another 10-15 minutes to crisp it up.
Leave a Reply

