Easy Chicken Fried Rice

Trini Carnival_Kids.jpg

(Photo Credit)

Trinidadian culture, especially food, is heavily influenced by the Chinese. I grew up wearing the cutest Chinese dresses and pants suits (much like HRC!), eating chow mein, char siu pork/chicken, wontons and my favorite chicken fried rice. When I was a kid vetsin aka MSG was an ingredient, but obviously MSG has been banned. Here’s my quick and easy version whenever I want a piece of home.

INGREDIENTS

  • 1-2 cups parboiled long grain rice (I like Uncle Ben’s)
  • 1 cup diced carrots
  • 1 cup diced green bell pepper
  • 1 cup red or yellow diced bell pepper
  • 1 cup sweet peas
  • 1 rotisserie chicken breast shredded w/o skin (love Mollie Stone’s chicken)
  • Soy Sauce (Gluten-Free alternative: Tamari)
  • Sesame Oil

 

DIRECTIONS

  1. I like to cook the rice the night before, and let it sit overnight with about 1/4 cup soy sauce mixed in. A rice cooker would be ideal here too.
  2. Add sesame oil to the pan, enough to coat the pan. This heats quickly so watch it carefully. I’ve been wanting to try avocado oil as that has a very high burning point, and coating the veggies in sesame oil but haven’t branched out yet. I alternate the sesame oil with hot chili oil too as I like it spicy.
  3. Add the carrots and bell peppers and let it cook for about 3-5 mins. The goal is to get it soft, but with a slight crunch. You don’t want soggy veggies in this.
  4. Add the chicken and warm up about 1-2 minutes.
  5. Add the rice and mix all the ingredients, I also add more sesame oil and soy sauce at this point to add flavor and color. I sometimes add a tiny bit of garlic powder (approx. 1 tsp.) depending on my taste test.
  6. Add the peas last and let that warm up and you’re done!

Options: you can substitute shrimp or even tofu for protein, and for veggies I sometimes add snap peas, edamame, white onion. Super easy right?!

Leave a Reply

