Life Soundtrack: Summer 2016

85azoyt_u1i-pascale-amez.jpgWas I the only one waiting with bated breath to see what Riley Curry would do at the Game 7 press conference? That’s fine, Riley and I don’t care about opinions.

Life updates: incredibly happy at home, super happy at work, my nephew is still a menace and I am the most content I’ve ever been. I commute to work via a boat. That’s right people, a boat that lets you purchase adult libations after 5PM. I am WINNING at life.

Filed under annoyances: I felt like I understood Snapchat and then they decided to monetize it and now I am plum SOL bc yo no comprende how to use the Discover tab. But I am still hip and happening, as evidenced by this fun lipstick from my Sephora Play box. And also evidenced by The Mindy Project somehow featuring the happenings of my life on a weekly basis. I see you rolling around in that Lexus Mindy! I finally got to see Rudimental this year and I danced my way to 16k steps that day.

And last, last update: I tried Bumble for a night, got 3 matches and promptly chickened out and deleted my profile. That’s a pretty big step for me so maybe there will be a “Chris Martin goofy/Persil commercial man in a tux” date in my future! That last part is for Lucy in case she is reading. Somehow she signed up for gmail and we learned of this activity when she sent us google+ invites.

Ok, on to the tunes:

Tedeschi Trucks Band: Anyhow, Right On Time featuring the stellar vocals of Mike Mattison is the one I have on repeat the most, and Hear Me is exquisite. Really, the whole album is insanely good and I can’t wait to see them in September.

Major Lazer: I am so into this group, love how he makes sure his Trini buddies are not left out. Dance away to Light It Up and All My Love featuring Trinidad’s own Machel Montano, and Be Together makes the stars align, that video is a good one.

Skrillex & Diplo: Oh man, Jungle Bae gets me moving and features Bunji Garlin, another Trinidad massive. Take U There and To U are also faves.

Ari and the Alibis: EVERYTHING. I am loving their album Dirty Little Secret from start to finish. Whatever Lola Wants segues into Phantom of the Opera and I happily sigh each time because Gerard Butler. Faves include Evening Fades and See The Light, simply stunning songs. This is an album you want to open up a good bottle of Cabernet (Blackbird Vineyards 2012 Contrarian hint hint) and just chill out on the deck. I would die the happiest girl if this band played with St. Paul and the Broken Bones. I think they are just starting to hit their stride, and I hope bigger arenas are in their future!

Other ditties making me tap my toes:

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

